Poetry and Poets Quotes

Poetry by Goethe with pic“If you cannot be a poet, be the poem.” David Carradine

“Painting is poetry which is seen and not heard & Poetry is a painting which is heard but not seen.” Leonardo Da Vinci

“Poetry is the art which is technically within the grasp of everyone: a piece of paper and a pencil and one is ready.” Eugenio Montale

“I stand upon my desk to remind myself that we must constantly look at things in a different way.” Dead Poets Society

Dead poest society standing on desks“Prose = words in their best order: Poetry = the best words in the best order.”

“A true poet does not bother to be poetical. Nor does a nursery gardener scent his roses.” Jean Cocteau

“We make out of the quarrel with others, rhetoric, but of the quarrel with ourselves, poetry.” William Butler Yeats

“Dancing is the poetry of the foot.” John Dryden

“Poetry is when an emotion has found its thought and the thought has found words.” Robert Frost

“Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance.” Carl Sandburg

Published by

timetowritenow

For over twenty-five years, I've taught elementary grades, high school, and county special education classes. Now I am a field supervisor for teachers working toward their teaching credentials. I also teach writing classes in Dublin and Pleasanton, California. I have won 5 awards in short story contests, My stories are published in The California Writers Club Literary Review, and several anthologies including four times in Las Positas College collections. I have several book projects, but the two that have my immediate attention are HADA'S FOG, which is women's fiction, LILLI, a YA novel, and NORMAN IN THE PICTURE, a paranormal mystery. I have published an anthology WRITTEN ACROSS THE GENRES that includes writings from members of my writing classes and other writers. It's available on Amazon and Kindle.

4 thoughts on “Poetry and Poets Quotes”

Leave a Reply

