Rhetorical Device Epanalepsis

epanalepsis

President John Kennedy said, “Mankind must put an end to war — or war will put an end to mankind.”

Our ears heard it, but we could not believe our ears.

The theory sounds all wrong; but if the experiment is a success, I cant worry about theory.

Next time there won’t be a next time.”   (Phil Leotardo in The Sopranos)

To report that a raise in wages is still under discussion is to tell us that there is nothing to report.

Nothing is worse than doing nothing.

Published by

timetowritenow

For over twenty-five years, I've taught elementary grades, high school, and county special education classes. Now I am a field supervisor for teachers working toward their teaching credentials. I also teach writing classes in Dublin and Pleasanton, California. I have won 5 awards in short story contests, My stories are published in The California Writers Club Literary Review, and several anthologies including four times in Las Positas College collections. I have several book projects, but the two that have my immediate attention are HADA'S FOG, which is women's fiction, LILLI, a YA novel, and NORMAN IN THE PICTURE, a paranormal mystery. I have published an anthology WRITTEN ACROSS THE GENRES that includes writings from members of my writing classes and other writers. It's available on Amazon and Kindle.

2 thoughts on “Rhetorical Device Epanalepsis”

  1. Anyone wonder who comes up with the unpronounceable names for these pesky little rhetorical devices? Come on, epanalepsis? Even spell-check doesn’t recognize it. I can’t wait to throw it out at my next cocktail party: “Myrtle, darling, have you been caught using any epanalepses lately? No? Hmmm, you’re saying our ears heard it but we shouldn’t believe our own ears?” Thanks, Jules.

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

